Personal Item Size 2026: Limits for 21 Airlines (in, cm and Litres)
Personal item size limits run from 40 × 30 × 15 cm at most European airlines to 18 × 14 × 8 in at American, Frontier and Allegiant. A bag up to 17 × 10 × 8 in fits every US airline that publishes a limit; 40 × 25 × 14 cm fits all 18 airlines below that publish one.
Key facts
- Strictest US limit: United, 17 × 10 × 9 in (43 × 25 × 22 cm), about 25 litres.
- Most common US limit: 18 × 14 × 8 in at American, Frontier and Allegiant, about 33 litres.
- Most common European limit: 40 × 30 × 15 cm (16 × 12 × 6 in), 18 litres.
- No published size: Delta, Southwest and Alaska/Hawaiian only say the bag must fit under the seat in front of you.
- 35 L backpack: bigger than every limit in our table when full; the largest box holds 33 litres.
- Too big at the gate: United charges $75 on Basic Economy, Lufthansa EUR 60–110 (USD 75–125), Ryanair €/£46–75 for a 10 kg bag brought to the gate.
How we checked: we opened each airline's own baggage page on 3 November 2026 (Aer Lingus and Iberia again on 4 November) and calculated the litres ourselves, because no airline publishes them. Every row links to the page we read. Spirit Airlines is not listed because it stopped flying on 2 May 2026. Sun Country is missing because its website blocked our access, and we don't print figures we couldn't read. We are an independent guide, not an airline.
Personal item size limits by airline (2026)
"Box litres" means the largest volume the airline's dimensions allow (length × width × depth). "Says it measures" and "If it's too big" report only what the airline's own page says.
| Airline (official page) | Inches | cm | Box litres | Weight cap | Says it measures | If it's too big | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United | 17 × 10 × 9 | 43 × 25 × 22 | 25.1 | None stated | Bag sizers at the airport (named for carry-ons); Basic Economy: show it at the check-in counter | Basic Economy: checked at the gate for $75 | 3 Nov 2026 |
| American | 18 × 14 × 8 | 45 × 35 × 20 | 33.0 | None stated | Sizer named for carry-ons only | Not stated; on American Eagle regional jets a bag over the personal-item size is valet-checked free | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Delta | Not published | Not published | – | None stated | Not stated | Not stated; see our Delta baggage rules and fees | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Southwest | Not published | Not published | – | None stated | Not stated | Check it at the ticket counter before the gate; see Southwest's bag fees by fare | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Alaska / Hawaiian | Not published | Not published | – | None stated | Sizers for the 22 × 14 × 9 in carry-on | Not stated | 3 Nov 2026 |
| JetBlue | 17 × 13 × 8 | 43.2 × 33 × 20.3 | 29.0 | None, "as long as you can lift it" | Not stated | Not stated | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Frontier | 18 × 14 × 8 | ≈ 46 × 36 × 20 | 33.0 | 35 lb | "Checked during boarding" | "Additional charge"; price shown only in Frontier's bag price checker | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Allegiant | 18 × 14 × 8 | 45 × 35 × 20 | 33.0 | None stated | "May be verified before boarding" | Airport bag fees; amount not on the page | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Breeze | 17 × 13 × 8 | ≈ 43 × 33 × 20 | 29.0 | None stated | Not stated | Bags added by airport staff: $75 each | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Avelo | 17 × 13 × 9 | ≈ 43 × 33 × 23 | 32.6 | None stated | Not stated | Carry-on costs $54–75; airport price only in its bag price tool | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Air Canada | 17 × 13 × 6 | 43 × 33 × 16 | 22.7 | None | Automated sizers before security and/or boarding | Must be checked; Basic fares: gate handling fee CA/US $65–78 | 3 Nov 2026 |
| WestJet | 16 × 13 × 6 | 41 × 33 × 15 | 20.3 | None stated | "Sizing device" | Checked-bag fee (UltraBasic: plus a service fee) | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Ryanair | ≈ 15.7 × 11.8 × 7.9 | 40 × 30 × 20 | 24.0 | None stated | Sizers at the boarding gate | Refused, or hold for a fee (gate fee for a 10 kg bag €/£46–75; €/£70–75 over 55 × 40 × 20 cm) | 3 Nov 2026 |
| easyJet | ≈ 17.7 × 14.2 × 7.9 | 45 × 36 × 20 | 32.4 | 15 kg | "We check cabin bag sizes before you board" | Hold, fee applies; a large cabin bag at the gate costs £60 | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Wizz Air | ≈ 15.7 × 11.8 × 7.9 | 40 × 30 × 20 | 24.0 | 10 kg | Not stated | Airport cabin-bag fee €55–65 per flight | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Lufthansa | ≈ 15.7 × 11.8 × 5.9 | 40 × 30 × 15 | 18.0 | None stated | Checks size at the airport | Hold at your cost: EUR 60–110 / USD 75–125, card only | 3 Nov 2026 |
| British Airways | 16 × 12 × 6 | 40 × 30 × 15 | 18.0 | None stated | Not stated | Not stated; see our BA hand baggage and checked allowance | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Air France | 16 × 12 × 6 | 40 × 30 × 15 | 18.0 | 12 kg with your cabin bag (Economy) | Not stated | Not stated | 3 Nov 2026 |
| KLM | ≈ 15.7 × 11.8 × 5.9 | 40 × 30 × 15 | 18.0 | 12 kg with your cabin bag (Economy) | Not stated | Not stated | 3 Nov 2026 |
| Iberia | ≈ 15.7 × 11.8 × 5.9 | 40 × 30 × 15 | 18.0 | None stated | Not stated | Must be checked; checked-bag fee by fare | 4 Nov 2026 |
| Aer Lingus | 15.5 × 11.5 × 8 | 40 × 30 × 20 | 24.0 | None stated | Gauge units at the airport | Must be checked; bag fee applies | 4 Nov 2026 |
≈ = our conversion; the airline publishes only the other unit. Litres for US airlines are calculated from the inch figures, so American and Allegiant show 33.0 L even though their own cm figures (45 × 35 × 20) give 31.5 L. Wizz Air measures without handles, and wheels may add up to 5 cm. WestJet's page gives 15 cm in its table and 14 cm in its text. Aer Lingus prints both units, and its inch figure (15.5 × 11.5 × 8 in) is slightly smaller than its cm figure; the table uses the cm figure.
Three details the table can't hold:
- United lets you bring nothing extra: "Small purses or bags are not allowed in addition to your personal item and carry-on."
- Air Canada is the exception. You may bring "an additional small purse or bag, provided it is no larger than 25 x 30 x 14cm (10 x 12 x 5.5 in)".
- Delta Connection flights with 50 seats or fewer allow personal items only on board; larger bags get a pink Gate Claim/Planeside tag and go in the hold.
What size bag fits every airline?
A bag up to 17 × 10 × 8 in (43 × 25 × 20 cm) fits all seven US airlines in the table that publish a limit. For all 18 airlines in the table that publish a size, including the European and Canadian ones, stay at or under 40 × 25 × 14 cm (about 15.7 × 9.8 × 5.5 in), which holds about 14 litres. If you shop in inches, choose 15.5 × 9.5 × 5.5 in, which also passes Aer Lingus's inch figures.
We worked these out by sorting each airline's three dimensions from longest to shortest and taking the smallest value in each position:
| Dimension | US airlines (7 with a published size) | All 18 with a published size | Which airline sets it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Longest side | 17 in | 40 cm | United, JetBlue, Breeze, Avelo (US); Ryanair, Wizz, Lufthansa, BA, Air France, KLM, Iberia, Aer Lingus (all) |
| Middle side | 10 in | 25 cm | United |
| Shortest side | 8 in | 14 cm | American, JetBlue, Frontier, Allegiant, Breeze (US); WestJet's text (all) |
| Box volume | about 22 L | 14 L | – |
Aer Lingus's own inch figures (15.5 × 11.5 × 8 in) are slightly smaller than its 40 × 30 × 20 cm, so a 40 cm bag is 0.6 cm over the inch version. That is why the inch size to shop for is 15.5 × 9.5 × 5.5 in rather than the straight conversion (15.7 × 9.8 × 5.5 in): it fits Aer Lingus in both units.
Delta, Southwest and Alaska/Hawaiian publish no numbers, so no size can be guaranteed there; they only require the bag to fit under the seat in front of you.
Does an 18 × 14 × 8 in bag count as a personal item?
An 18 × 14 × 8 in bag counts as a personal item at only three of the 18 airlines in our table that publish a size: American, Frontier and Allegiant. Bags are also sold as 17 × 10 × 9 in ("United size"), which fits only United and Avelo, and as 40 × 30 × 15 cm, which fits every airline here that publishes a size except United (WestJet only on its 15 cm table figure, Aer Lingus only on its cm figure).
We checked each size the same way as above: longest side against longest side, middle against middle, shortest against shortest, using each airline's own figures.
| Bag sold as | Fits | Too big at |
|---|---|---|
| 18 × 14 × 8 in (45.7 × 35.6 × 20.3 cm) | American, Frontier, Allegiant | United, JetBlue, Breeze, Avelo, Air Canada, WestJet and all nine European airlines; even easyJet's 45 cm, the longest European limit, is only 17.7 in |
| 17 × 10 × 9 in (43.2 × 25.4 × 22.9 cm) | United, Avelo | American, JetBlue, Frontier, Allegiant and Breeze (9 in is over their 8 in), Air Canada, WestJet and all European airlines (40 cm longest side, or 20 cm depth at easyJet) |
| 40 × 30 × 15 cm (15.7 × 11.8 × 5.9 in) | American, JetBlue, Frontier, Allegiant, Breeze, Avelo, Air Canada, Ryanair, easyJet, Wizz Air, Lufthansa, BA, Air France, KLM, Iberia; Aer Lingus on its cm figure; WestJet on its 15 cm table figure | United (30 cm is over its 10 in, 25.4 cm); WestJet if staff go by the 14 cm in its text; Aer Lingus if staff go by its 15.5 × 11.5 in figure |
Three edge cases. American and Allegiant also print 45 × 35 × 20 cm, which is 0.7 cm shorter than 18 in, so an 18 × 14 × 8 in bag matches their inch figure exactly and has no margin; the same goes for a 17 × 10 × 9 in bag at United, whose rounded 43 × 25 × 22 cm is slightly smaller than its inch figure. A 40 × 30 × 15 cm bag fits Aer Lingus on its cm figure but not on its 15.5 × 11.5 in figure.
The table is for rigid bags: a soft backpack, duffel or weekender that is a little over may squeeze into a sizer, but a hard-shell under-seat case won't give, so buy hard cases at or below the limit.
Is a 30L or 35L backpack a personal item?
A 35-litre backpack is too big for every airline in our table if it is full. The largest limit, 18 × 14 × 8 in, makes a box of 33.0 litres, and nothing that holds 35 litres fits inside a 33-litre box.
A 30-litre backpack can only pass at the five airlines whose box is larger than 30 litres: American, Frontier and Allegiant (33.0 L), Avelo (32.6 L) and easyJet (32.4 L). Even there, it must be close to box-shaped and not packed to bursting. A full 30 L pack cannot fit United's limit (25.1 L), Ryanair's, Wizz Air's or Aer Lingus's (24.0 L), or the 40 × 30 × 15 cm limit at Lufthansa, BA, Air France, KLM and Iberia (18.0 L).
The litre number on a backpack's label is the maker's own figure. A sizer tests length, width and depth, so measure the bag after you have packed it, with straps and side pockets included.
What counts as a personal item?
Any small bag that fits the limit and goes under the seat in front of you counts, whether it is a backpack, a handbag or a laptop bag. The size limit is the airline's, not TSA's: TSA's FAQ says carry-on sizes "vary by airline" and tells travellers to contact the airline. TSA screens what is inside, such as liquids in containers of 3.4 oz (100 ml) or less in one quart-size bag.
Airlines list the same examples:
- Backpacks: a "small backpack" at Frontier, Allegiant, Breeze, Avelo and Delta; "backpack" at United and Southwest; "rucksack" at easyJet; "backpack or handbag" at Iberia; "small backpack" at Wizz Air.
- Handbags and purses: yes, a handbag uses up your personal item. American calls it "your personal item like a purse or small handbag". Air Canada's page is the only one we read that allows a small purse on top of the allowance (up to 25 × 30 × 14 cm).
- Crossbody bags: Southwest lists "purse (including crossbody bags)" as a personal item, and WestJet lists a "purse/crossbody bag". A crossbody bag is your personal item, not an extra.
- Laptop bags and briefcases: named by Delta, United, Alaska, Breeze, Avelo, Aer Lingus and easyJet. Delta also names belt bags and fanny packs.
Some things don't count against the allowance. At American, diaper bags (one per child), a breast pump, a small cooler of breast milk, child safety seats, strollers and medical or mobility devices are extra. Delta adds a jacket or umbrella, food or drink bought after security and duty-free shopping. Air Canada allows a coat and food to eat on board, and Southwest says neck pillows do not count. A pet carrier counts as your personal item or carry-on at Southwest and Breeze.
Why can't you wear a crossbody bag during takeoff?
In the US, federal rules say an airline may not let a plane "take off or land unless each article of baggage is stowed" in an approved compartment or under a seat (14 CFR 121.589(c)). Passengers "must comply with instructions given by crewmembers" on stowage. The rule has no exception for a bag worn across your body, which is why crew can ask you to take it off and put it under the seat for takeoff and landing.
In the first row and at emergency exits, expect the bag to go in the overhead bin instead. Aer Lingus, for example, says that if you are "seated in row 1 (economy or business class) or at an emergency exit, you must store your baggage in an overhead locker."
Personal item vs carry-on: what's the difference?
The personal item is the small bag that goes under the seat. The carry-on is the larger bag that goes in the overhead bin. Budget fares often include only the personal item.
| Personal item | Carry-on bag | |
|---|---|---|
| Where it goes | Under the seat in front of you | Overhead bin |
| Typical US size | 17 × 10 × 9 in (United) to 18 × 14 × 8 in (American) | 22 × 14 × 9 in (United, American, Delta, Alaska, JetBlue) |
| Typical European size | 40 × 30 × 15 cm or 40 × 30 × 20 cm | 55 × 40 × 23 cm (Lufthansa, Wizz Air) to 56 × 45 × 25 cm (BA, easyJet) |
| Included on the cheapest fare | Yes, at every airline in our table | No on the basic fares of the 14 airlines in the next table (some only on certain routes); yes at American, Delta, Alaska, JetBlue, Southwest, British Airways and Iberia |
Basic economy: when the personal item is all you get
| Airline | Fare | What you can bring for free |
|---|---|---|
| United | Basic Economy | Personal item only, except flights to South America, across the Atlantic and across the Pacific |
| Air Canada | Economy Basic (tickets bought on or after 3 January 2025) | Personal item only within Canada, to/from the US, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean |
| WestJet | UltraBasic | Personal item only, except flights to/from Europe and Asia |
| Lufthansa | Economy Basic, short- and medium-haul | Personal item only |
| KLM and Air France | Basic | Small bag only; a cabin bag can be bought |
| Aer Lingus | Saver, flights within Europe | Small personal item only; a 10 kg bag can be booked online from €9.99/£9.99, or dropped at check-in free |
| Frontier, Allegiant, Breeze, Avelo | Base fare | Personal item only; carry-on costs extra (budget airline bag prices) |
| Ryanair, Wizz Air, easyJet | Base fare | Small under-seat bag only |
| American, Delta, Alaska, JetBlue, Southwest, British Airways, Iberia | All fares | Personal item and a carry-on (Iberia: on flights operated by the Iberia Group) |
United's Basic Economy page says that if your personal item "does not fit under the seat, you'll have to check it at the gate and pay a $75 fee." MileagePlus Premier members, Star Alliance Gold members and primary holders of qualifying United co-branded cards still get a free carry-on on Basic Economy; the Gateway and Select cards do not qualify. JetBlue now says it lets you "bring one carry-on and one personal item on all fares", Blue Basic included.
What happens if your personal item doesn't fit?
Your bag usually goes in the hold for a fee. Where an airline publishes both prices, paying before the gate is cheaper:
| Airline | Fee published on its own page (3 Nov 2026) |
|---|---|
| United | $75 at the gate (Basic Economy, personal item that does not fit) |
| Air Canada | Gate handling fee CA/US $65–78 (Economy Basic) |
| Breeze | $75 per bag added by airport staff |
| Lufthansa | EUR 60 / USD 75 to EUR 110 / USD 125, credit card only |
| Ryanair | €/£46–75 for a 10 kg bag brought to the gate; €/£70–75 for a bag over 55 × 40 × 20 cm. A 10 kg bag bought at the bag-drop desk costs €/£35.99 |
| easyJet | Hold fee; a large cabin bag at the gate costs £60 |
| Wizz Air | Airport cabin-bag fee €55–65 per flight |
If you think your bag is borderline:
- Measure it packed, at home, including wheels, handles and straps (Frontier and easyJet count them in the personal-item limit).
- Buy the bag online before the airport if the fare allows. Frontier and easyJet say airport prices are higher, and Ryanair charges more at the gate than at its bag-drop desk.
- Check it at the counter, not the gate. Southwest tells passengers to check an oversize item "at the ticket counter before you head to your departure gate". On Lufthansa, that means getting to the desk before it closes; see our Lufthansa check-in deadlines.
- Move valuables to your pockets before a bag is gate-checked. United asks passengers to keep medication, vapes, keys and other essentials in the personal item in case the carry-on goes in the hold.
Some gate-checks are free. On American Eagle regional jets a bag over the personal-item size is valet-checked at no charge, and Delta Connection jets with 50 seats or fewer tag larger bags at the plane. When a flight is full, KLM, Iberia and Lufthansa check compliant cabin bags free. If a gate-checked bag arrives damaged, report it before you leave the airport; our guide to claiming for a damaged or lost bag covers the deadlines.
Which personal item sizes online are out of date?
Several limits still quoted online are out of date. The main changes behind them: Allegiant now publishes 8 × 14 × 18 in, Spirit stopped flying on 2 May 2026, JetBlue's Blue Basic now includes a carry-on, and Air Canada's Economy Basic tickets bought on or after 3 January 2025 include only a personal item on North American and Caribbean routes. The airlines' own pages said this on 3 November 2026:
| What you may read | What the airline says now |
|---|---|
| Allegiant: 7 × 15 × 16 in (UponArriving, posted December 2022) or 16 × 15 × 7 in (SmarterTravel, last modified 3 September 2025) | 8 × 14 × 18 in (20 × 35 × 45 cm) |
| Southwest: 18.5 × 13.5 × 8.5 in (SmarterTravel, last modified 3 September 2025; Away, 14 November 2024) | No dimensions published; the bag "goes under the seat in front of you" |
| Delta, Alaska, Hawaiian: 22 × 14 × 9 in personal item (Going) | 22 × 14 × 9 in is their carry-on limit; none of them publishes a personal-item size |
| Ryanair: free small bag 15.75 × 10 × 7.9 in (SmarterTravel, last modified 3 September 2025) | 40 × 30 × 20 cm, "which must fit under the seat in front of you" |
| JetBlue Blue Basic: personal item only (Going) | Carry-on and personal item "on all fares" |
| Spirit: 18 × 14 × 8 in (SmarterTravel, last modified 3 September 2025; UponArriving) | Spirit ceased operations on 2 May 2026 |
Always check the airline's own website rather than a third-party "airline help" page, some of which are fake customer-service listings.
FAQ
Is a backpack a personal item?
Yes, if it fits the airline's limit and goes under the seat in front of you; Delta, United, Southwest, Frontier, Allegiant, Breeze, Avelo, Iberia, Wizz Air and easyJet all name backpacks. A backpack too big for the under-seat limit counts as a carry-on, which costs extra on basic and low-cost fares.
Can a handbag and a backpack both count as personal items?
Usually not, because a handbag uses up the one personal item. Air Canada is the only airline on our list whose page allows a small purse (up to 25 × 30 × 14 cm) on top of the allowance.
Does the personal item have a weight limit?
Most airlines in our table publish no weight limit for the personal item. Frontier caps it at 35 lb, Wizz Air at 10 kg and easyJet at 15 kg. At Air France and KLM the small bag and cabin bag together may weigh 12 kg in Economy.
Can my personal item be a small rolling suitcase?
Sometimes. easyJet's free bag can be "a small trolley case" if it fits 45 × 36 × 20 cm with wheels and handles. Frontier counts wheels in its 18 × 14 × 8 in limit, and Wizz Air says wheels may add no more than 5 cm.
Do airlines actually measure personal items?
Some say so on their pages. Frontier says the personal item "will be checked during boarding". Ryanair uses sizers at the boarding gate, Air Canada has automated sizers, and United asks Basic Economy passengers to show their personal item at the check-in counter. Delta, Southwest, JetBlue and BA mention no personal-item check on the pages we read.
Where to go next
- British Airways Baggage Allowance 2026, by Cabin and Status
Every BA fare includes a 56 × 45 × 25 cm cabin bag and a 40 × 30 × 15 cm handbag. Checked bags run from none on Economy Basic to 3 × 32 kg in First (4 with Gold status). Tables in kg and lb, fees, and BA's claim deadlines.
- Southwest Baggage Fees 2026: $45/$55 by Fare, Who Still Flies Bags Free (Table)
Southwest charges $45 for the first and $55 for the second checked bag on tickets bought since 9 April 2026 ($35/$45 before). Fees by fare, who still flies bags free, Hawaii interisland prices, overweight charges, carry-on size and every change since May 2025.
- Lost Luggage Compensation 2026: How Much Airlines Pay, Deadlines and How to Claim
On US domestic flights airlines can cap lost-bag payouts at $4,700; international trips, including those to or from the US, are capped at 1,519 SDR (about $2,060). What you actually get, the deadlines by airline and treaty, and how to claim.
- Delta Baggage Policy 2026: Fees, Carry-On Rules and Deadlines
Carry-on and personal item are free on every Delta fare. Domestic checked bags cost $45 and $55 for tickets bought since 8 April 2026, $35 and $45 before. The Europe allowance, fees by ticket date, overweight charges, how to get free bags, the 20-minute guarantee and the 6-hour damage deadline.
How we checked this guide
- United Airlines Carry-on bags (personal item 9 x 10 x 17 in)
- United Airlines Basic Economy ($75 gate fee for a personal item that does not fit)
- American Airlines Carry-on bags and size limits
- Delta Air Lines Carry-On Baggage
- Southwest Airlines Help Center Carryon bags and personal items
- Alaska Airlines and Hawaiian Airlines Carry-on luggage size limit
- JetBlue Carry-on bags
- Frontier Airlines Bag Options
- Allegiant Air Baggage (live page blocks automated access; read via WebFetch on 3 Nov 2026 and the Wayback snapshot of 18 Oct 2026)
- Allegiant Air Baggage, Wayback Machine snapshot 18 Oct 2026 (personal item 8 x 14 x 18 in)
- American Airlines Basic Economy (1 carry-on bag and 1 personal item)
- Breeze Airways Baggage prices and dimensions
- Breeze Airways Bag pricing ($75 per bag added by airport team members)
- Avelo Airlines Optional services (personal item 17 x 13 x 9 in)
- Air Canada Carry-on baggage (incl. Economy Basic)
- WestJet Carry-on baggage
- Ryanair Help Centre Ryanair's Bag Policy (small bag 40 x 30 x 20 cm)
- Ryanair Help Centre What happens at the boarding gate if my cabin bags are bigger than my allowance?
- Ryanair Fees (gate bag fees)
- easyJet Cabin bags
- easyJet Fees and charges
- Wizz Air Baggage allowance
- Wizz Air All services and fees
- Lufthansa Carry-on baggage
- British Airways Baggage essentials
- Air France Weight, size and baggage allowance
- KLM Hand baggage allowance
- Iberia Hand luggage
- Aer Lingus Carry-on baggage
- eCFR 14 CFR 121.589 Carry-on baggage
- NPR via OPB Spirit Airlines ceases operations (2 May 2026)
- TSA Frequently asked questions (carry-on size 'vary by airline'; 3-1-1 liquids rule)
- TSA Liquids, aerosols and gels rule (3.4 oz / 100 ml or less per item, one quart-sized bag; checked 4 Nov 2026)
- SmarterTravel Carry-on and personal item size limits (dateModified 3 Sep 2025; cited only for the outdated figures it prints)
- Away Personal item size guide (published 14 Nov 2024, re-read 4 Nov 2026; cited only for the outdated Southwest figure)
- UponArriving Personal item on a plane (posted December 2022; cited only for outdated figures)
- Going Is a backpack a personal item? (cited only for outdated figures)